Vegetable Gardens

The journey of becoming a gardener.

Vegetable Gardens

I am not a particularly handy person, and I’ve felt insecure about my inability to do everyday home repairs, so when I do manage to repair, build, or figure something out, I’m on top of the world. An unexpected achievement on a Saturday morning is enough to put a spring in my step all the way to Sunday night. So I must tell you that July 2020 will go down as the month with one of my greatest accomplishments to date: I set up a drip irrigation system to automatically water my raised-bed vegetable gardens. It involved Youtube videos, the most complex addition and subtraction equations I’ve done since college, and five separate trips to Home Depot which gave me five opportunities to practice beginner plumbing vocab words and phrases with Nathan, their plumbing aisle expert. I’ll spare you any more details, but the entire thing very much followed the storytelling arc of the “Hero’s Journey.” Anyway, I planted three basil plants, and now I have too much, so come on by if you have plans to make pesto.