Turning 31

A birthday reflection on power and humility.

Turning 31

I turned 31 yesterday, and I’m taking some time away from work and the regular rhythms of my life to inhale the fullness of this past year and hold it close in reflection. This past year has been a dense one for me personally: it’s been a year of exploring some deep-set fears, discovering courage I didn’t know I had, putting everything on the line for Uncharted and coming up short in moments and surpassing my ambitions in others.

It’s been a year of surrendering long-held beliefs and narratives, giving my heart the permission to open as it never has before, and ultimately standing in awe of this world and its mysterious, conspiring unfolding.

I’ve never felt more empowered and more humbled than I do today, and I suppose there’s something about that unusual paradox that pulls me out of bed each morning with the firm hope that if we let ourselves live an adventure, there is an adventure to be lived.