Leadership in a time of COVID

The principles of leading during a time of crisis.

Leadership in a time of COVID

I’ve been asking myself this question of “How is the way I am showing up now consistent with (or inconsistent with) the person and leader I aspire to be?” That question has prompted a sober reflection into areas of strength (decisiveness, lucidity of strategy, ability to navigate ever-changing dynamics) and areas of weakness (impatience, lack of emotional availability, ego). This reflection has also led me to consider the work of leadership during these times as consisting of three priorities:

  1. Show up for the humans on the Uncharted team and in my life (parents, neighbors, etc. Including myself here).
  2. Ensure the organization can navigate the short and medium term (cash flow and financials, external relationships, culture, communication, trust).
  3. Begin building now for the other side of this crisis so we can step into new paradigms and explore opportunities of impact. How can this accelerate who we want to be in the future?