Copernican Revolution

Copernican Revolution

I go about my days mostly ignoring the reality of outer space. But then something will happen that will create a little Copernican Revolution in my worldview, and I’ll spend 15 minutes losing my mind contemplating the expansiveness of outer space, the insignificance of our earthly existence, and if humans are mistakenly placing truth and mystery as opposites on a spectrum of epistemology.

Usually these metaphysical moments will be interrupted by unhelpfully pedestrian epiphanies about remembering to schedule a dentist appointment or the need to feed my parking meter, but fortunately I had three such moments in April as 1) scientists revealed the first picture of a black hole, 2) the Hubble Telescope turned 29 years old, which was an excuse to release some of the best Hubble images over the years, and 3) today is Day 2 of an asteroid drill.